What would you like to search for?

Bishops of Limerick

View a brief history of the former Bishops of the Limerick.

Brendan Leahy (1960-)

Bishop Leahy was born on the 28th of March 1960. He was ordained a Priest on the 5th of June 1986.  On the 10th of January 2013, he was appointed Bishop of Limerick and was ordained Bishop on the 14th April 2013 at
St. Johns Cathedral. 

Tony Mullins - Diocesan Administrator (1959- )

The Very Rev. Tony Mullins was born on the 20 April 1959 and is a native of Ardagh parish. He studied in St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth, from 1977 to 1983.

Bishop Emeritus Donal Murray (1940- )

Bishop Murray was born in Dublin in 1940, attended Blackrock College, Dublin, obtained his B.A. and Masters in Philosophy at U.C.D., his B.Div. at Maynooth and his License and Doctorate in Theology at the University of St Thomas, Rome. 

Jeremiah Newman (1926-95)

Born at Dromcollogher, Co. Limerick, he followed the educational paths of his predecessors, in St. Munchin’s College, Limerick and St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth. 

Henry Murphy (1912-73)

Born in Ardpatrick, Co. Limerick, he too was educated at St. Munchin’s College and St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth. 

Patrick O'Neill (1891-1958)

Born at Grange, Fedamore, Co Limerick, he was educated at St. Munchin’s College, Limerick and St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth. 

David Keane (1871-1945)

Born at Ballyagran, Co. Limerick he was educated in St. Coleman’s College, Fermoy, St. Munchin’s College, Limerick.

Denis Hallinan (1849-1923)

A near contemporary of Bishop O’Dwyer, he was born in the parish of Coolcappagh, Co. Limerick in 1849.

Edward Thomas O'Dwyer (1842-1917)

Born at Holy Cross, Co. Tipperary, he was educated at the C.B.S. in Limerick and at St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth, where he was ordained in June 1867. 

George Butler (1815-86)

Born in Limerick on 13 February 1815, he was educated at St. Munchin’s College, and ordained a priest from St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth, on 26 November 1838.

John Ryan (1784-1864)

John Ryan was born in Twomileborris, Co. Tipperary in November 1784.

Charles Tuohy (1754-1828)

Charles Tuohy was born in Nicholas Street, Limerick, in 1754.

John Young (1746-1813)

He was born in John’s St., Limerick, in March 1746 into a merchant family.